A Couple Quotes on Hitting From Tony Gwynn

These are taken from George Will’s book, Men at Work. Among other things Tony said, here are two:

“I remember when they asked Pete Rose what do you think about Gwynn taking batting practice every day. He said, ‘he’ll learn, the more he plays the more he’ll realize he doesn’t need batting practice every day.’ Pete’s got more hits than anybody but I just don’t feel I’m prepared unless I’m doing what I can to be a little bit smarter, a little bit better, a little bit more prepared. I have been brought up in the game to do every little extra thing, get every bit of extra knowledge that can help you get a base hit in a key situation. I think my parents gave it to me.”

“Last year [1987], when I was going through bankruptcy and the team was in last place, people used to say, ‘How did you do it, hit .370?’ I said, playing was easy. That is how I got my relief, where I came to have fun.”

Published in: Uncategorized on June 17, 2014 at 8:54 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://miscbaseball.wordpress.com/2014/06/17/a-couple-quotes-on-hitting-from-tony-gwynn/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

