Carl Yastrzemski’s Farewell Speech

Carl Yastrzemski’s final game came on October 2, 1983: it was his 3,308th game in the major leagues. He spoke to the Fenway fans before the game, and here’s some of what he said:

“I’m extremely pleased so many of you came. Over the years, I’ve learned that Red Sox fans are the greatest and most loyal. I hope I’ve represented Boston and New England with class and dignity. I hope you will think of me as a winner. Because I feel playing just one game at Fenway Park makes me a winner. I’m proud to have worn my Red Sox uniform for my entire 23 years. I’m privileged to have worn it longer than anyone else. I will miss you. I will miss my teammates, past and present. I will miss the clubhouse people, the batboys, and all the terrific people who work at Fenway Park. I’ve been blessed by great parents and a wonderful family. And I’ve been blessed with the ability to play baseball. There is no other game like it.”

Published in: on May 30, 2009 at 8:19 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://miscbaseball.wordpress.com/2009/05/30/carl-yastrzemskis-farewell-speech/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

