Tim Crews

As a companion to my other post on Steve Olin’s early career, here’s some information about Tim Crews in 1984, 1987, and 1988. Tim Crews was called up to the Dodgers in late July 1987, after posting a 7-2 record with a 3.63 earned-run average and 12 saves for the Los Angeles AAA farm team, Albuquerque.

Before the start of the 1988 season, the Los Angeles Times reported: “Dodger relief pitcher Tim Crews, who had three saves and a 2.48 earned-run average in 20 appearances as a rookie last season, signed a split contract on Monday for $78,000 if he makes the major league team, and $62,500 for the minor leagues.

“I think I’m worth more than that, based on what I did at the end of the season,” said Crews, who had sought $90,000. “But I’m satisfied and I’ll just have to prove it to them again that I can play.”

An early June 1988 article on Crews in the Orange County Register said:
“Crews, 27, a virtual throw-in in the deal that sent Greg Brock to Milwaukee and Tim Leary to the Dodgers, is 1-0 with a 1.10 ERA since being recalled from Albuquerque three weeks ago. A career minor-leaguer, he was 1-1 with a 2.48 ERA after his July 27, 1987 promotion, which is why he was surprised to start this season in Triple-A.

Strangely, Crews and Holton had to compete for the final spot on the staff because the club was determined to give left-hander Brad Havens another chance to prove he had the mental approach to be a reliever. After Havens proved he didn’t, allowing five of six inherited runners to score, Crews replaced him.

“Baseball can get caught up too much with the lefty-righty percentages,” Crews said. “I get lefties out just as good as righties.”

Crews, earning $78,000, and wife Laurie became parents for the second time last month.

[In 1984] Crews was a Double-A pitcher, living and working a few miles from the Mexican border, getting pounded to the tune of a 6.75 ERA and nursing a sore arm. The same year, he chased banditos attempting to steal a TV out of his tiny El Paso apartment, firing shots with his gun “Simon.”

“The police officer told me I would have been doing everyone a favor if I had hit them because they had been causing so much trouble,” said Crews, who rarely misses the catcher’s target. “I’m glad I missed, because I wouldn’t want to have that on my conscience the rest of my life.”

Published in: on May 21, 2009 at 12:40 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://miscbaseball.wordpress.com/2009/05/21/tim-crews/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

