Red Sox Memories

In May 1988, the Boston Globe asked some old Red Sox to share stories about their most memorable moments as Red Sox. Here’s one from Dom DiMaggio:

“My most satisfying and disappointing moments occurred in the seventh game of the 1946 World Series against the Cardinals in St. Louis. I doubled in two eighth-inning runs to tie the score at 3 all. But while I was rounding first, I pulled a muscle. The game was held up for 20 minutes while they tended to my injury. But I finally had to leave the game. Leon Culberson ran for me and then took my place in center field. In the bottom of the eighth, Enos Slaughter dashed from first to home with the winning run on Harry Walker’s single. Slaughter told the press he decided to go all the way when he realized I was no longer in the lineup.”

And another from Joe Dobson, a pitcher with Boston from 1941 to 1950: “I collected three hits in one game off Bobo Newsome in a 1941 game played in Detroit. I reached base on a swinging bunt, a single and a home run. I had my eyes closed when I swung and hit the home run. They told me the ball went into the left-center-field stands. I had only two homers in my 14 years in the majors. Naturally, I took my time circling the bases. Manager Joe Cronin used to call me a dangerous swinger. Another high point of my career was appearing in three World Series games with the Red Sox against the St. Louis Cardinals. I had a 1-0 win over the Cardinals, a four-hitter with eight strikeouts.”

Eddie Pellagrini, utility infielder with Red Sox in 1946 and ’47: “I’ll never forget April 22, 1946, at Fenway Park. We won the game, 5-4. I belted a game-winning home run over the left-field fence in my first time at bat in the major leagues off Sid Hudson of the Washington Senators. I still send Hudson a Christmas card every year. My seventh-inning homer went over the horn and into the nets. I got into the game when Johnny Pesky was beaned by a pitch thrown by Hudson in the fifth. Manager Joe Cronin sent me in to run for him. I also took his place at shortstop. The next day against the Yankees, I had a double, triple and home run. I should have retired after those first two games.”

Tex Hughson, Red Sox pitcher from 1941 to ’49: “My 1-0 win against the Indians in Cleveland on Sept. 13, 1946, to clinch the American League pennant was my most memorable moment. Ted Williams had hit an inside-the-park home run with two outs in the first inning for the game’s only run. We had lost seven consecutive games on the road before we could open the champagne we had been carrying with us. I won four 1-0 games that season, including one against the Yankees at Fenway Park. Pitching the opening game of the 1946 World Series was also a big thrill. I was taken out in the eighth, but Rudy York won the game for us, 3-2, with a 10th-inning homer.”

Frank Malzone, third baseman for the Red Sox from 1955 to ’65: “My first All-Star game in 1957 gave me my greatest pleasure. Ted Williams and I were the only Red Sox players chosen that year to the American League team. I replaced George Kell in the fourth. We won the game, 6-5, but not before the National League just fell short with a three-run rally in the ninth. During the rally, Ernie Banks hit a grounder at me but the ball took a fluke bounce off my foot and went into left field for a run-scoring single. But Minnie Minoso recovered the ball and his throw to me was in time to tag out Hank Foiles. Bob Grim of the Yankees took over in relief with two out and retired Gil Hodges to save the game.”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://miscbaseball.wordpress.com/2009/04/19/red-sox-memories/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

