Jeffrey (Hackman) Leonard and the 1987 NLCS

By game 6 of the 1987 National League Championship Series, the Giants Jeffrey Leonard had hit four homers, one in each of the first four games, and become famous for his one flap down home run trot. And, Chili Davis had helped tick off the St. Louis fans by calling their city a “cow town.” They responded by throwing all sorts of things at the Hackman in left field.  After game 2 he said, “I love the boos. These aren’t the worst fans, though. The worst ones are in Chicago. As far as being bad, they’re probably in fourth or fifth place. I was having a good time with ’em.”

After game 6, Leonard said: “I got suspended once in grade school for raising hell, and my mother and father yelled at me louder and longer than these people did tonight. That meant more than this does now. The only thing that upsets me some is that these people probably believe they’re the reason I struck out my first two times up.

“Nothing happened tonight that I didn’t expect, except we didn’t win. When I did something wrong as a kid, my mother and father yelled at me more than I got yelled at tonight. I had those two cow bells thrown at me (early in the game). I don’t mind the verbal abuse or any of the other things that were thrown, but the cow bells were dangerous.

“One landed about five yards from me. Fortunately, I heard them coming.”

In listing the things people threw, he said: “Caramels, frozen hot dogs, change. There was a lot of money out there. There was so much change, I thought they were expecting me to tap dance.” The Hackman went 1 for 3 in the game, with a single and a walk, but the Giants lost 1-0, and lost the next game too, so the Cardinals won the N.L. pennant. In the third inning of game 6, the fans’ projectiles forced the game to stop twice. In the sixth inning, the Cardinals’ Terry Pendleton pulled a line drive deep to Leonard’s right. When Leonard went after the foul ball, a fan dumped a cup of beer on him. The Hackman said: “I acknowledged some of the signs. They had some pretty good signs.”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://miscbaseball.wordpress.com/2009/01/12/jeffrey-hackman-leonard/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. It’s funny how in some ways recent baseball history is more likely to be forgotten than baseball history from much longer ago. The man was quite a character.


Leave a Reply

