Mike Witt’s Perfect Game to End the 1984 Season

Here’s the AP account of this perfect game by Witt on September 30, 1984, at the end of the season:

ARLINGTON, Texas – Mike Witt, a 6-foot-7 right-hander whose ability is said to be commensurate with his height, enabled the California Angels to finish an imperfect season yesterday on a perfect note.

Witt, 24, pitched a perfect game as the Angels defeated Texas 1-0.

“Right now,” he said moments after it ended, “it just seems like another win. I’m happy to end the season with a shutout and wish I hadn’t had to wait until the last day to get my 15th win.

“It probably won’t be until tomorrow and the next day and every day this winter that I’ll be saying to myself, ‘Hey, I did that.’ I mean, to get 27 straight batters out is unbelieveable. For me to be able to say it is unbelievable.”

Witt needed only 94 pitches and 1 hour 49 minutes to fashion the first no-hitter in the 13 seasons major-league baseball has been played in Arlington Stadium.

Losing pitcher Charlie Hough: “Witt was throwing his curve on either side of the plate whenever he wanted. His stuff was awesome. I saw Jerry Reuss and John Candelaria pitch no-hitters but this was by far the most overpowering. I mean, this was no contest.”

Witt threw 55 curves, 37 fastballs and 2 change-ups. He threw 70 strikes and 24 balls. He threw first-pitch strikes to 23 of the 27 batters.

A crowd of 8,375 saluted Witt with a standing ovation. The Angels raced from the dugout as if this was the pennant they didn’t win. Witt’s wife, former Angels’ secretary Lisa Fenn, stood in a front-row box at the corner of the Angels dugout and waited with tears streaming down her face for an embrace.

Here’s the box score for the game.

Published in: on December 5, 2008 at 10:49 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://miscbaseball.wordpress.com/2008/12/05/mike-witts-perfect-game-to-end-the-1984-season/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I was 16 when this happend. My mother took me to the game the day before and we sat in the right field seats. I tried to go down to the lower level and get some autographs but they wouldn’t let me through. My mother felt so bad that she bought front row, third baseline tickets for the Sunday game. I believe the Cowboys were playing at home on this day. The place was realy empty. I took 5 baseballs home that day. Two from batting practice, two foul balls and 1 ball the backup catcher from the bullpin tossed me after the game. Good times.


Leave a Reply

