Nolan Ryan’s 5000th Strikeout

Quotes from Nolan Ryan and Rickey Henderson about Ryan striking out Henderson for his 5000th strikeout on a 3-2 count on August 22, 1989:

Ryan: “The off day yesterday gave me a lot more time for things to build up. I was nervous at the start, but then I settled down.

I didn’t want to walk Rickey Henderson, so I went with the fastball. If somebody asked me before the game what pitch I would throw, it would have been a fastball.”

Henderson: “I asked the catcher (Chad Kreuter), ‘If I did strike out, could I take the ball out to him?’ He wouldn’t let me.”

And: “I don’t think nobody could have hit that pitch. He got me on the best pitch he threw.”

Ryan: “It was nice that my teammates came out there to congratulate me. In that situation, nobody knows how to act.”

Henderson again: “After the game he told me, ‘It had to be somebody, but I’m sorry it had to be you.’ It really is an honor. Roger Clemens throws hard, but Nolan has more success with what he does. Nobody in baseball can do what he’s doing.”

Published in: on December 3, 2008 at 4:21 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://miscbaseball.wordpress.com/2008/12/03/nolan-ryans-5000th-strikeout/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

